A Brief Introduction To Cricket

Cricket is a modern day sport performed between teams. Each staff has eleven players. The game is played on an oval or spherical shaped ground which has a rectangular 22 yard long pitch on the center. One crew bats to score as many runs as possible. The other team stops the run flow by dismissing the batsmen. A run is scored when a batsman hits the ball with his bat, runs to opposite end of pitch and touches the crease there without being dismissed.

There are three codecs of the game:

a) Test Cricket
b) One Day Cricket
c) Twenty-Twenty

Test Cricket

The oldest form of cricket is Test Cricket. The game of cricket truly advanced with Test Cricket. Records show that first ever test match was performed between Australia and England within the year 1876-77. The game of cricket has come a long way since then. The foundations have changed a lot. A test match is played over a period of 5 days with every crew batting and bowling twice. Most over that may be bowled in a day is ninety while there is no such thing as a restrict on the number of over a single bowler can bowl. Over 2000 test matches have been performed until date.

There are 9 test taking part in nations which are full members of Worldwide Cricket Council - The International Cricket Governing body. These members are Australia, Bangladesh, England, India, New Zealand, Pakistan, South Africa, Sri Lanka and West Indies.

One Day Worldwide

Restricted over cricket was launched in England within the year 1963. Internationally, the primary restricted over game was performed within the yr 1971. One game is performed in a single day. A bowler can bowl a most of 10 over's in a game. In 1975, a new tournament often called World cup came into existence. All Worldwide Cricket Council members gathered at one place for a collection of matches towards every other. The winners of tournament had been termed as World Champions.

World cup is performed after each four years. icc cricket world cup 2019 has carried out 10 world cups until date. Australia became champions four times, West Indies and India twice while Pakistan and Sri Lanka once. The final world cup was held in the 12 months 2011 and was received by India.


The latest evolution in the game of cricket is twenty-twenty. Here, each staff plays 20 overs and a bowler can bowl a most of four overs. First worldwide Twenty-twenty game was performed within the year 2005 between Australia and New Zealand. First twenty-twenty world cup was held in 2007. The tournament is performed every two years and twenty-twenty world champions are crowned. 20 worldwide groups have performed the game till date.

Even after one hundred years of its existence, the recognition of game continues to be increasing. More and more persons are taking up this sport. It is only second to Football when it comes to followers across the globe and is set to publish a challenge for the top slot very soon.
BIGtheme.net Joomla 3.3 Templates